Change in board at the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust

David Trebeck has been elected as the National Chair of the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Board of Directors, following the retirement of the Honourable Margaret White.



Trebeck, a 1974 Churchill Fellow, has chaired the ACT Churchill Trust Selection Committee since 2014, served as a member since 2002, and before that, as a committee member of the ACT Churchill Fellows Association. He becomes the eighth National Chair in the Trust’s 52-year history and the second Churchill Fellow in the role.

He brings a wealth of experience to the role as a professional economist and company director. Trebeck is also President of the ACT Division of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, has been a director of six ASX listed companies over a period of 20 years, including GrainCorp for 13 years. He has an honours degree in Agricultural Science, a Masters of Economics and is a recipient of the Centenary of Federation Medal.

Trebeck commented that being elected to the position was a great honour and he is aiming to enhance the reputation of the Trust, which today manages investment funds of over $100 million and awards over 100 new Fellowships annually.

Story: Caitlin Muddle